As I completed my final week at Hughes High School, I experienced such a rush of emotions and excitement as my students completed a review game for their test (I was required by my mentor to give them a test). I had students cut their color wheel into the original pieces. With this, they could fan out their colors, revealing a few, while concealing the rest. I had students practice by showing me different color schemes including: analogous and warm colors.

Another form of review was using the large dry erase board to review facial feature placement. I would have students work together to "build" a face without talking to one another. This was a small group activity done at each table, having the students use different colors of markers. Students were to complete a face and include: horizontal and vertical axis lines, eyes, nose, mouth, ears, hairline, neck, eyebrows. Then students found celebrities in magazines and analyzed their facial features according to placement information we learned together.

Students took a test and completed a course evaluation the last day. Overall, this experience was plentiful. I developed a rapport with my students and had the opportunity to teach them valuable art foundations, while allowing them to experiment with and explore the materials. At the end of their final project, there was a mutual respect for the work as students were proud of their images and I was proud of their reflection and presentation of themselves.

Arty On!



Leave a Reply.